The amazing kangaroo

  • There are over 40 different species of kangaroo.

  • The largest type of kangaroo is the Red Kangaroo.

  • They come from the macropod family which means big foot.

  • Kangaroos are herbivorous, eating a range of plants including grass.

  • They can go without water for a long while.

  • Most are nocturnal sometimes active in the early morning and late afternoon.

  • Kangaroos have powerful back legs with long feet.

  • Their tail is used to balance while hopping and as a fifth limb when moving slowly.

  • Kangaroos can hop at up to 60kmh (40mph).

  • They can also leap up to 3 metres (10ft) high.

  • A male kangaroo is called a boomer.

  • A female kangaroo is called a flyer.

  • A baby kangaroo is called a joey.

  • All female kangaroos have front-opening pouches. This is where the joey lives until it can survive outside the pouch.

  • Female kangaroos usually have one baby a year.

If you are crafty you may like this tutorial in making the cutest felt kangaroos.

1 comment:

Thanks for your input - we love comments